Messi and Barcelona Continue to Make History

Lionel Messi, the quadruple winner of 'Golden Ball'
Messi and Barcelona rewrite history

During the last decade, Barcelona and Lionel Messi have become synonymous with breaking records, and it seems that in the near future, ‘restatement’ football history is waiting for us.

FC Barcelona – International Trophies:

Champions League / European Cup – in 1991/92, 2005/06, 2008/09, 2010/11, 2014/15

FIFA Club World Cup / Intercontinental Cup – 2009, 2011, 2015

UEFA Super Cup – 1992, 1997, 2009, 2011, 2015

Cup Winners’ Cup – 1978/79, 1981/82, 1988/89, 1996/97

Inter-Cities Fairs Cup – 1955/58, 1958/60, 1965/66

Hispanic Cup – 1949, 1952

Giant from Catalonia, led by Lionel Messi, the quadruple winner of ‘Golden Ball’, defeated River Plate in the finals of the FIFA Club World Club Championship 3:0 (1:0) and thus reached the fifth trophy in 2015.

Luis Enrique’s team became European Champions in late May, for the fifth time in its history, and shortly afterwards raised the trophy as Spanish Champions, as well as winners of National Cup, Copa del Rey.

At the start of the new season, ‘Blaugrana’ continued in the same rhythm, bringing a new trophy in the trophy room – UEFA Super Cup.

At the same time, Barcelona has become the club with most international trophies in history – 22, including FIFA Club World Cup trophy they won over Japan last week. Real Madrid, AC Milan and Al-Ahly are sharing spot no.2 with 20 cups; the third is Boca Juniors with 18 while Independiente has 16.

However, Barcelona failed to win only one of all possible trophies this year – their Basque archrivals; Athletic Bilbao, celebrated in the Spanish Super Cup. Therefore, Josep Guardiola’s untouchable generation in 2008/09, when he won six trophies, stays at the top.

Defenders with the most trophies in the history of football:

  1. Dani Alves – 29 titles
  2. Gerard Pique – 25
  3. Cafu – 24
  4. Paolo Maldini – 23
  5. Gary Neville – 22

On the historical way from May to December, Barcelona has improved the club record for scoring the most goals in a single season. Three goals against River Plate set them at 176, one more than in 2012, and they still have one more game, against Real Betis.

Also, Messi with his third title (2009, 2011, 2015), equaled Uruguayan Penarol legend Alberto Spencer (1961, 1962, 1967), scoring goals in all three FIFA Club World Cup Finals in which they played.

Leo became the first Argentinian with the most official titles, 25 with Barcelona, plus the Olympic gold with Argentina in Beijing 2008.

Luis Suarez, Andres Iniesta, Sergio Busquets and Gerard Pique also found their place in history, next to a former player of Newells Old Boys.

Suarez and Messi equaled Cesar Delgado and Alberto Spencer on the list of goal scorers in the FIFA Club World Cup Finals – with five goals, Suares scoring all five in last three matches. Only legendary Pele is ahead of them, with one goal more.

Iniesta and his greatest friend and ex-Barcelona partner in midfield, Xavi Hernandez, now both have 28 titles while Dani Alves with 29 titles has the same number of titles as his compatriot Pele.

Busquets, Pique and Iniesta again now have four world titles each, including the club and Spanish national team, and on top are still Cafu and Pele – with one more.

In the end, one non-Barcelona player will enter the history – Jonathan Maidana became the first player to play in FIFA Club World Cup with two different teams – Boca Juniors (2007) and River Plate (2015).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *